the aliveness of life

tree snake with melinda - image by MelindaBlairPaterson (Instagram)
tree snake hanging with Melinda – image by MelindaBlairPaterson (Instagram)

Coming home and seeing a snake hanging around… literally, is a great way to experience being ALIVE! Everything switches on doesn’t it?  The mind, body, and awareness all collide and collapse into the moment of now.

I’d been away for a few days and my friend (a curious and harmless tree snake) had moved into my patch whist I’d been travelling. Here in Australia we have a number of poisonous and deadly snakes, so from a young age we are educated to approach all snakes with caution. In fact we are taught not to approach them at all, but rather back away slowly and let the creature have ‘right-of-way’. So when I found this fellow between myself and the front door my assessing of the situation came at lightening speed; i.e.  probably, hopefully, prayerfully, it was ok for me to quickly pass and get inside. (Note… I did place my bag between my body and the snake just in case I was wrong in my educated guess of it being a tree snake.)

Once inside I realised my heart was pounding and the adrenalin had amped up to such a level I just had to jump around and shake myself a bit to settle somewhat, and I couldn’t stop laughing and squealing, it really was the most delightful experience. I decided to poke my nose out the door and see if the snake was still around. Sure enough, still hanging there on the wire. So suddenly I went from flight to fight…. well curiosity actually, and stepped out with my iPhone to take a photo. I mean it was so beautifully curled around the wire and such a glorious shade of green. I quietly stepped closer and closer. The snake lifted its head towards me, seemingly equally curious to know who I was. We had our moment… gazing at each other, the shot was taken, and then the snake effortless unwound itself and headed up onto the roof.

OMG… how alive is that!

In recent weeks I’ve found a letting go or lack of interest in speaking about or listening to non-duality teachings. What use to be a huge source of ‘hunger’ for many years has quietly and unsuspectingly been replaced with a sense of ‘enough’. There’s no residue in the change. No lingering thought or sensation wishing it was different, or missing how it use to be, but rather like the snake, something else has moved in when the ‘me’ had gone away for a few days.

What appears to be here now is a keen interest in the Alive-ness of life. It feels extraordinarily simple. There is no longer any need of books to read, teacher to listen to, or spiritual conversation to be had… but rather just being with whatever shows up in the day in a kind of fascination. Awareness and Aliveness appear to be one and the same. Mx

11 thoughts on “the aliveness of life

    1. Hi Ian… thank you for your comment. It is true what you say and I know that the books have certainly been part of the journey to date. It’s just such a sense of freedom when one comes to the understanding that they are no longer needed, and yet they are fun to enjoy, all at the same moment. 🙂 One thing is for sure. You can certainly save some money by not needing to buy another book or 10! Much love Mx

      Like

      1. Coincidentally Ive just had an email notice of a 21 Taras retreat that the Lama is taking here in NZ early May next year, will be excellent, if you’re into that kind of thing. Nice to connect cheers Ian

        Liked by 1 person

Comment

