the invitation

the invitation by Melinda Blair Paterson

A morning to stop, stay in bed, and catch up on some emails and reading. You know, the ones you  left ‘unread’ in your inbox or ‘bookmarked’ in your browser to come back to, hoping you will!

I have recently discovered the written works of Dorothy Hunt, meditation and spiritual teacher from  Moon Mountain Sangha in California. I felt deeply touched by her expression so I emailed her to ask if she had a newsletter or blog I could follow. She graciously replied pointing to her website where I discovered her poetry. The following was the first I read this morning from a series of beautiful poems available on her site – dorothyhunt.org.

The Invitation

When God comes in your house
it is only by your invitation,
but even your invitation is God’s,
for she has always been
landlady and tenant,
windows and walls,
the fire in your hearth
and the cold wind blowing at your door.

At first, her visits seem so welcome.
She brings tea and cookies and loves you
so sweetly inside your own heart.
You keep inviting her back
by your prayers and meditations,
imagining you’ve found the one you always wanted
who will hold you on her endless lap
and take away your pain forever.

But pretty soon, she starts arriving
unexpectedly, at odd hours of the day and night,
and every time she comes,
she takes something away–

continued here…

Reading this poem today reminded me of a moment last Sunday; standing in the middle of the kitchen, where Knowing announced: You are no longer responsible for your partner’s sexual needs. What?… and as I looked within for the hook, pattern, belief,  thought, or conditioned response on such a delicate intimate relationship matter; it could no longer be found. It was gone!

But pretty soon, she starts arriving
unexpectedly, at odd hours of the day and night,
and every time she comes,
she takes something away–

I wasn’t sure how I was going to broach the matter with my partner, however as usual, I just wait and, if necessary, the moment arrives.

It was only in the expressing to him: I realise I am no longer responsible for your sexual needs, did I reflect and understand how much of my life as a woman had been run on a conditioned belief, opposite, to what was now here in Truth.

The relief, spaciousness and freedom is palpable.  Mx

 

Comment

